2) Read the Rules

For those that aren’t aware the person known as “Anchor Dropper” in the previously postings is Andrew.   His actions are accurately described in Leo’s Resignation.

Anyone who has played golf long enough should know that golf has rules forbidding just about everything.   There has to be rules with regards to score manipulation.   On a quick look I found the USGA handicap manual says—

Two basic premises underlie the USGA Handicap Systemnamely that each player will try to make the best score at every hole in every round, regardless of where the round is played, and that the player will post every acceptable round for peer review. The player and the player’s Handicap Committee have joint responsibility for adhering to these premises.

 

4-1. Unfinished Holes and Conceded Strokes

A player who starts, but does not complete a hole or is conceded a stroke must record for handicap purposes the most likely score.

There is no limit to the number of unfinished holes a player may have in a round, provided that failure to finish is not for the purpose of handicap manipulation.

 

Andrew made it clear after the 10th hole that he was not going to get 30 or more points.   He clearly wasn’t trying to score points and he picked up twice before completing the hole where his “most likely score” was at least 1 and could be argued as 2.    He handed in his score with a 0 on both holes to end up with his target of 29.  This is clearly an infraction of the rules.

The Ad-hoc administration claim they are doing “damage control”.   Saying all kinds of nice things about me one moment and then kicking me in the balls the next.   They offer excuses for Andrew —  “the person who “dropped anchor” by avoiding getting 30 or over was well within his rights to do so.  It wasn’t Leo’s place to call foul when the player took an option that the rules of the side bet allowed. ”  After reading the rules above you can see that it is not true.

Another excuse — “we think it was one bad golf day for the SMAF participant that can be dismissed like the bad golf days we have all had.”    I was there.   He was not having a bad day.   He was having a not quite good enough to win day.   After the round it looked like a bad day due to his score manipulation.  Is the Ad-hoc administration suggesting that it is OK to cheat if you are having a bad day?

Their other form of damage control is to make me the villain.  They claim I am doing this just to take a shot at Andrew.   It is no secret that he and I have issues.   However, what he said after the 10th hole offended me.   It was extremely poor sportsmanship over a piddly sum of 100 baht.  I felt if I didn’t report the incident it could happen again.  I have insisted that if ANYONE else had done this I would have reported it just the same.  After the round I brought this up at the lunch table and was shouted down.   It wasn’t a very productive discussion so I used other resources that were available to me.

The best form of damage control is honesty, not excuses.   Admit there was an error of judgement and apologize.   Once Andrew has apologized to his playing partners and the other members I would have no choice but to shut up.

For reporting cheating at CRAPS I was penalized so severely that no one dared report cheating again.   I sincerely hope this is not the road that SMAF is taking.

In closing I would like to thank all those who have quietly supported me.  It is appreciated.

(Comments for this posting have been disable.   If you have something to say that will move this forward in a positive way email me and I will post it.)

Advertisements